Conversations with God – Hearing God’s Voice

If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, then you will recognize that I often share conversations I had with the Lord. I didn’t always hear God the way I do now. At one time, I was lucky to hear him give me a single sentence. Sometimes I would go months without hearing his voice. That changed a few years ago when I started to believe that God wanted to speak to me all the time and that I could hear his voice. As I prayed, God began to teach me how easy it was to hear his voice and how I could hear him all the time. I know there are many other people who might not have been privileged to learn these things, so I want to share a conversation I had with the Lord about how to hear him. Hearing God’s voice is not vital to your christian walk. You can be a dedicated christian and never hear God’s voice. You hear him for your sake, not his. There is no penalty for not hearing his voice and it does not make you any less of a person. Everyone can learn to hear God’s voice, God does not show favoritism. I hope these words jump start you into a relationship of communication with God. I pray for all my readers, that they would begin to hear God’s voice clearly and hear him speaking in their own language all the time.

I don’t hear everything perfectly. Take what settles well with your spirit and reject things that aren’t beneficial. I just ask for your grace for me to sometimes hear my Lord incorrectly as I try to accurately convey him.

How do I hear God’s voice?

I’ve felt dry lately.

You can always come to me when you feel dry.”

Wow. God, how do I teach people to hear your voice?

Actually I teach them best. How do you hear my voice?”

Well Lord, I hear you as a thought in my head, that I know is not mine.

Is that hard?”

No, its really easy.

Then its probably my voice. Jon Paul, I think the biggest hinderance is the theology behind it. People have in mind a God who doesn’t speak, isn’t interested, or doesn’t know how to communicate with his children. That mindset has the effect of nullifying your faith by keeping you from using it. It is not hard to hear my voice and everyone can. When people add to many rules, it confuses the simplicity of understanding my voice. As you know, you have had to unlearn some of those rules.”

Are there any scriptures that would help us understand how to hear your voice?

Yes, plenty. ‘And I will ask the father and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever– the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.’ 1 Corinthians 2:14 ‘The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit.’ Do you know how to hear the spirit’s voice?”

o wow! That’s a great question. I do, but how do I explain that to others?

Where does the spirit live?”

In us.

So where will you hear his voice?”

In us…

This means that scripturally, thoughts, feelings, attitudes, impressions, senses, memories, visions can all be the work of the spirit and I can speak through any of those means.”

1 Corinthians 2:11 says, “For who knows a person’s thoughts except their own spirit within them? In the same way no one knows the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us.” So this is saying that the spirit tells us the thoughts of God. And I know my own thoughts because of my spirit within me. So if my spirit knows my thoughts, then your spirit in me would know your thoughts, and I would recognize those thoughts by the spirit? Is that correct?

Spiritual discernment. ‘which things we also speak, not in words taught by human wisdom, but in those taught by the Spirit, combining spiritual thoughts with spiritual words. The person without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God but considers them foolishness, and cannot understand them because they are discerned only through the Spirit.’ It is the spirit in you that teaches you the sound of my voice and teaches you my words and wisdom.”

Lord, it seems to me like there are many people with the spirit who consider speaking with God foolishness.

Your mind needs to be renewed. Sometimes its not so much that they believe God doesn’t speak as much as they believe God doesn’t speak to them.”

Do you speak to people who don’t believe you speak?

In any way I can. People expect a loud thunderous voice. And there is glory in that. But spiritual words do not always need to be that in order to be from God.”

Ah, 1 Kings 19:11-13. The one about Elijah hearing the still small voice.

And remember my years upon the earth and how the Pharisees missed me. People don’t hear me when I speak in a way they don’t expect. They did not recognize who I was because they had made conclusions about how I would come and why. Sometimes when you hear God’s voice you have to unlearn those expectations so you can recognize God the way he speaks. For instance, one notion is that God only speaks through the Bible. The Bible is a record of my promises, but it takes the spirit of revelation to interpret it. Some people think I speak through events. So when events are going poorly, they think I am trying to tell them something. Their preconceived notions are hindering them from experiencing the full potential of the way God wants to speak to them.”

How do you want to speak to them?

I want them to recognize my spirit and to be able to tell when my spirit is giving them words. For some that will look like visions or dreams. Others will get impressions, intuitions, senses, or feelings of things they should do or say. Some like you will hear my words in their heart so that they can write down what I am saying. These are all ways the spirit manifests and he does so to each person as that person learns to listen in that area. After all, would I give a picture of a turtle to a man who has not been trained to interpret visions? Would he not consider it foolishness? Even though he has the spirit, his mind determines what he does with the information.”

So Lord, if we can be taught to hear your voice, how do we recognize what is you and what is us?

By my spirit in you. He will guide you into all truth. You do not need to fear going astray, my spirit will set you back on course. He is a spirit of peace and peace can be a guide that helps you recognize truth. Jon Paul, what would words from God sound like?”

Well God, that would involve us knowing who you are and how you speak.

I am gentle, I am kind. I do not insist on my own way. I am not proud. I am caring and full of compassion. I am near to the brokenhearted and I encourage the oppressed. My voice is not malicious, it does not bring conviction of faults, it does not condemn the just. You will recognize it by the peace and assurance it brings. It is full of wisdom and mercy and you will hear love in every sentence. It keeps no record of wrongs. It is satisfying and easy to listen to. It will be full of life and joy. James 3:17 ‘But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.’ God is a gracious God and he does not show favoritism. He will not speak to you because you are rich, because you have more intelligence or good deeds than another person. He delights in all alike and he reveals his wisdom to everyone with his spirit. The only thing that will keep you from hearing is your own earthly judgements and self-made limitations.”

Wow, so we really need to learn how to get rid of those limitations.

Like that God will only speak to man in a certain way or under certain conditions. Or that he only speaks to certain classes of people. These silly arguments do nothing to help you hear my voice, they are there only to distract you.”

Thanks God! Do you mind if I put this on my blog?

That’s what I wrote it for.”

Any final words?

Bravo, bravo signing out.”

Hahaha.

Your supposed to say ‘Rodger.’”

Rodger. 

2 thoughts on “Conversations with God – Hearing God’s Voice

  1. I just want to tell you that I am just very new to weblog and absolutely enjoyed your web-site. Probably I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with fantastic article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

